What does the sales required to earn Target net income tell us?
James Olson
Updated on February 06, 2026
To reach your target net income, you need to sell 150 units. Target net income uses your budgeted sales level. The difference between your budgeted level of sales (150 units) and your breakeven sales (50 units) is your margin of safety.
How much sales are required to earn a target income of $300000 if total fixed costs are $300000 and the contribution margin ratio is 40 %?
How much sales are required to earn a target net income of $160,000 if total fixed costs are $300,000 and the contribution margin ratio is 40%? total sales equal total variable costs. contribution margin equals total fixed costs.
How do you calculate target sales revenue?
Calculating Target Revenue To calculate your target revenue, you simply multiply your target sales volume by the expected selling price. For example, if you have a target sales volume of 2,000 units and they sell for $100 a piece, then your target revenue is $200,000.
What is Target’s net income?
2.937 billion USD (2019)
Target Corporation/Net income
How to calculate your target profit before taxes?
1. A target income of $60,000 before taxes. 2. A target income of $60,000 after taxes (40% tax rate). 3. A target income equal to 40% of sales. 1. A target income of $60,000 before taxes Analysis: Selling 8,000 units will result in an operating income of $60,000. To prove, let us compute for the net income at 8,000 units.
How to calculate target sales for a business?
Target sales = Total fixed costs + Target income : CM per unit = $20,000 + $60,000 : 10 per unit : Target sales = 8,000 units
How to calculate your target profit for CVP?
If the target income is expressed in terms of percentage of sales (example, 20% of sales), the formula would be: To illustrate the concepts above, consider the following data. 1. A target income of $60,000 before taxes. 2. A target income of $60,000 after taxes (40% tax rate). 3. A target income equal to 40% of sales. 1.
What is the target profit for selling 8, 000 units?
Analysis: Selling 8,000 units will result in an operating income of $60,000. To prove, let us compute for the net income at 8,000 units. 2. A target income of $60,000 after 40% tax