N
The Global Insight

How do you calculate the breakeven point in a company?

Author

Christopher Davis

Updated on February 07, 2026

How to calculate your break-even point

  1. When determining a break-even point based on sales dollars: Divide the fixed costs by the contribution margin.
  2. Break-Even Point (sales dollars) = Fixed Costs ÷ Contribution Margin.
  3. Contribution Margin = Price of Product – Variable Costs.

What is the company’s break even sales volume?

Breakeven sales volume is the amount of your product that you will need to produce and sell to cover total costs of production. Select a range of sale prices and compute the contribution margin for each price. Next, divide total fixed cost by each contribution margin to compute the breakeven sales quantity.

How do you calculate break even point example?

In order to calculate your company’s breakeven point, use the following formula:

  1. Fixed Costs ÷ (Price – Variable Costs) = Breakeven Point in Units.
  2. $60,000 ÷ ($2.00 – $0.80) = 50,000 units.
  3. $50,000 ÷ ($2.00-$0.80) = 41,666 units.
  4. $60,000 ÷ ($2.00-$0.60) = 42,857 units.

How to calculate break even point for sales?

Break-even Point (Sales in dollars) = Fixed Costs / (Sales Price per Unit x BEP in Units. Where: Fixed Costs are the costs that are independent of the volume of sales, such as rent. Variable Costs are the costs that are dependent on the volume of sales, such as the materials needed for production or manufacturing.

What was break even sales for Walmart in 2018?

Therefore, Walmart’s break even sales for the year 2018 is $459.01 billion. Step 1: Firstly, determine the variable costs of production of the subject company. Typically, variable costs include those types of costs that directly vary with the change production level or sales volume.

What does it mean when a company breaks even?

. It means that there were no net profits or no net losses for the company – it “broke even”. BEP may also refer to the revenues that are needed to be reached in order to compensate for the expenses incurred during a specific period. For example, Company ABC spent $100,000 on manufacturing costs and also acquired revenues worth $100,000.

How to calculate break even for unit cost?

The Break Even Calculator uses the following formulas: Q = F / (P − V) , or Break Even Point (Q) = Fixed Cost / (Unit Price − Variable Unit Cost) Where: Q is the break even quantity, F is the total fixed costs, P is the selling price per unit, V is the variable cost per unit. Total Variable Cost = Expected Unit Sales × Variable Unit Cost.